u RLFANS.COM - Rugby League War Heroes WWW.RLFANS.COM • View topic - Rugby League War Heroes

Board index Championship 1 Rochdale Hornets Rugby League War Heroes

Rugby League War Heroes
Post Thu Apr 21, 2011 1:59 pm
Posted by Chorley Rhino on Thu Apr 21, 2011 1:59 pm
Chorley Rhino User avatar
Cheeky half-back
Cheeky half-back

Reputation Points: 2
Rep Position: 321st / 77,983

Quiz Score: 0

Joined: Tue Mar 13, 2007 12:29 pm
Posts: 716
Location: Chorley, Lancashire
One of my big interests in life is the two World Wars, wargraves and the memorials to those who served this country. I am a local volunteer with the Commonwealth War Graves Commission (CWGC) and have adopted a number of wargraves of Battle of Britain pilots. I give them a clean and tidy to maintain their appearance, befitting of the person who made the ultimate sacrifice for this country. I am not sure if you have ever had a look at the CWGC website but on it is a publication listing rugby players who have served their country in its time of need.

This is a link to it:- http://www.cwgc.org/admin/files/Rugby%20leaflet.pdf

As you can see, there aren’t any rugby league people on it. I have spoken to the CWGC people and I have been given the go ahead to produce a list of rugby league people who answered their countries call in time of conflict. I have been in contact with Stevo and we agree this is something that doesn’t exist but we have agreed it needs to exist!

I have written to all the clubs for the names of people who served this country in a time of conflict. This is where you guys and gals can help. Please could you forward to me the names of people associated with your club that went to war. Not just those who made the ultimate sacrifice but those who came back.

It is hoped when all the names have been collated, to produce three books of remembrance. One each to be given to The Rugby League Heritage Centre, one to the RFL HQ at Red Hall and one to the National Arboretum in Staffordshire. The details will also be passed to the CWGC for inclusion on their website.

Also, I will create a register of where their final resting places are, if the fallen are buried in this country, I would like some volunteers to tend their final resting place so they aren’t forgotten.

So, please send me the names of those brave people from the rugby league community who answered the call. I don’t mind being told many times about one person. It would be very sad if we missed out someone who should be remembered!

You can either reply to this thread, PM me or email me directly to the project email rlwarheroes@yahoo.co.uk

Thank you in advance for your help with this project.

“They shall not grow old, as we that are left grow old. Age shall not weary them, nor, the years condemn. At the going down of the sun and in the morning, WE will remember them!”
They shall not grow old, as we that are left grow old. Age shall not weary them nor the years condemn, at the going down of the sun and in the morning – WE WILL REMEMBER THEM

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests

Quick Reply

Subject: Message:
   

Return to Rochdale Hornets


POSTSONLINEMEMBERSRECORDYOUR TEAM
5,007,9771,80277,9834,559SET
LOGIN HERE
or REGISTER for more features!.
Sat 22nd Feb 15:00
CC2020
ROCHDALE
v
BRITISH ARMY
Sun 8th Mar 15:00
 CH1
ROCHDALE
v
KEIGHLEY
Sun 22nd Mar 15:00
 CH1
WORKINGTON TOWN
v
ROCHDALE
Sun 29th Mar 15:00
 CH1
ROCHDALE
v
HUNSLET
Fri 10th Apr 15:00
 CH1
ROCHDALE
v
CRUSADERS
Sun 26th Apr 15:00
 CH1
NEWCASTLE
v
ROCHDALE
Sun 3rd May 15:00
 CH1
ROCHDALE
v
BARROW RAIDERS
Sun 17th May 15:00
 CH1
DONCASTER
v
ROCHDALE
Sun 24th May 15:00
 CH1
ROCHDALE
v
LONDON SKOLARS
Sat 30th May 15:00
 CH1
WEST WALES
v
ROCHDALE
Sun 21st Jun 15:00
 CH1
ROCHDALE
v
COVENTRY BEARS
Sun 28th Jun 15:00
 CH1
KEIGHLEY
v
ROCHDALE
Sun 5th Jul 15:00
 CH1
ROCHDALE
v
WEST WALES
Sun 12th Jul 14:30
 CH1
CRUSADERS
v
ROCHDALE
Fri 24th Jul 15:00
 CH1
HUNSLET
v
ROCHDALE
Sun 2nd Aug 15:00
 CH1
ROCHDALE
v
NEWCASTLE
Sun 9th Aug 15:00
 CH1
BARROW RAIDERS
v
ROCHDALE
Sun 16th Aug 15:00
 CH1
ROCHDALE
v
DONCASTER
Sun 23rd Aug 15:00
 CH1
ROCHDALE
v
WORKINGTON TOWN
Sat 5th Sep 15:00
 CH1
LONDON SKOLARS
v
ROCHDALE
ALL SCORES PROVIDED BY RLFANS.COM (SETTINGS)






81