RLFANS.COM
Celebrating
23 years service to
the Rugby League
Community!
WWW.RLFANS.COM • View topic - New Hull KR book - 'The Robin Sings Again'
New Hull KR book - 'The Robin Sings Again' Mon Nov 08, 2021 5:31 pm  

UpTheRobins wrote:
UpTheRobins Stevo's Armpit

Joined: Sat Nov 06, 2021 1:46 am
Posts: 1
Member for L 0 years
Hello fellow Robins,

I have aimed to fill the huge void that is Rovers literacy. Since mid-2020 I have been working on this volume, which chronicles last season in it's entirety. From analysis, news, matches and everything else - this is 'The Robin Sings Again: The Story of Hull Kingston Rovers' 2021 Season'

Description:
Throughout their existence, Hull Kingston Rovers have endured many battles to stay alive: administration, debt, stadium upheaval and even a prospective merger with their bitter rivals. However, nothing quite threatened them as much as the Coronavirus - one of the deadliest pandemics in the history of the world. Yet for Hull KR, that was just the start of the major issues that they had to battle against in 2021.

The rugby league authorities, the RFL, endured a stigma from the Robins' supporters as an entity that didn't want them to be apart of the top level of the sport, and those feelings were only exacerbated when the club was stripped of their elite academy status - a move which could have sent the club spiralling into oblivion.

The final potential enemy that Rovers were facing heading into 2021 was themselves. The club had finished bottom of the Super League in their previous season, and in the season before that, they had only avoided what would have been a disastrous relegation by the skin of their teeth. Even some of their fiercely loyal fans, who were always the lifeblood of the club, had begun to question the direction in which Rovers were moving in, due to their consistent underachievement. The all too familiar feeling of disappointment was chipping away, and at the height of such trying times, Hull KR needed their fans more than ever. In order to keep them on side and engaged, they needed to start to produce on the field - even if their hands were tied by budget constraints and a once in a generation global pandemic.

Indeed, times were tough. The potential messiah for Hull KR in their uncertain days, returning chief executive Paul Lakin, had described the times as 'choppy waters'. Join author Dan Crowther, as he surfs on those choppy waters by dissecting Hull KR's 2021 season in full detail. From first-team games, a controversial rebrand, other off-field incidents and news, general analysis, the feelings of the supporters that helped keep Hull KR alive, and much more - all in chronological order.

The Robin Sings Again is a compelling account of how one of British rugby league's most legendary clubs lived to fight another day and came just 80 minutes shy of a monumental Grand Final appearance.


LINK: https://www.amazon.co.uk/Robin-Sings-Again-Kingston-Rovers/dp/B09KNCX5TT

Available as a paperback for £6.99 and as a Kindle e-book for £3.99

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 53 guests

Quick Reply



Subject:
Message:

   
Please note using apple style emoji's can result in posting failures.

Return to Hull KR


POSTSONLINEMEMBERSRECORD
19.26Million 1,509 78,8569,567
LOGIN HERE
or REGISTER for more features!.

When you register you get access to the live match scores, live match chat and you can post in the discussions on the forums.
YOU HAVE RL CHAT OFF
RLFANS Match Centre

TABLES:
 Fri 11th Feb
     Super League XXVII-R1
20:00
Hull KR
v
Wigan
 Sat 19th Feb
     Super League XXVII-R2
15:00
Huddersfield
v
Hull KR
 Fri 25th Feb
     Super League XXVII-R3
20:00
Hull KR
v
Salford
 Sun 6th Mar
     Super League XXVII-R4
15:00
Hull KR
v
St.Helens
 Fri 11th Mar
     Super League XXVII-R5
19:45
Salford
v
Hull KR
 Fri 18th Mar
     Super League XXVII-R6
19:30
Catalans
v
Hull KR
 Fri 1st Apr
     Super League XXVII-R7
19:45
Hull KR
v
Warrington
 Fri 15th Apr
     Super League XXVII-R8
12:30
Hull KR
v
Hull FC
 Mon 18th Apr
     Super League XXVII-R9
15:00
Toulouse
v
Hull KR
 Sat 23rd Apr
     Super League XXVII-R10
15:00
Hull KR
v
Wakefield
 Fri 29th Apr
     Super League XXVII-R11
20:00
Leeds
v
Hull KR
 Sun 15th May
     Super League XXVII-R12
15:30
Castleford
v
Hull KR
 Sun 22nd May
     Super League XXVII-R13
15:00
Hull KR
v
Catalans
 Sun 5th Jun
     Super League XXVII-R14
15:00
Hull KR
v
Salford
 Sun 12th Jun
     Super League XXVII-R15
15:00
St.Helens
v
Hull KR
 Sun 26th Jun
     Super League XXVII-R16
15:00
Hull KR
v
Huddersfield
 Sat 2nd Jul
     Super League XXVII-R17
19:30
Toulouse
v
Hull KR
 Sun 10th Jul
     Super League XXVII-R18
17:30
Hull KR
v
Hull FC
 Sun 17th Jul
     Super League XXVII-R19
15:00
Hull KR
v
Wakefield
 Fri 22nd Jul
     Super League XXVII-R20
20:00
Warrington
v
Hull KR
ALL SCORES PROVIDED BY RLFANS.COM (SETTINGS)
Matches on TV
Sun 30th Jan
CC2022 RND: 2 Rochdale-Midlands
Mon 31st Jan
CH RND: 1 York-Featherstone
Mon 7th Feb
CH RND: 2 Featherstone-Leigh
Thu 10th Feb
SL RND: 1 St.Helens-Catalans
Fri 11th Feb
SL RND: 1 Hull KR-Wigan
Sat 12th Feb
SL RND: 1 Leeds-Warrington
SL RND: 1 Toulouse-Huddersfield
Thu 17th Feb
SL RND: 2 Warrington-Castleford
Fri 18th Feb
SL RND: 2 Wigan-Leeds
Sat 19th Feb
SL RND: 2 Hull FC-St.Helens
Thu 24th Feb
SL RND: 3 Leeds-Catalans
Fri 25th Feb
SL RND: 3 Hull KR-Salford
Thu 3rd Mar
SL RND: 4 Wakefield-Leeds
Fri 4th Mar
SL RND: 4 Warrington-Catalans
Thu 10th Mar
SL RND: 5 Leeds-Hull FC
Fri 11th Mar
SL RND: 5 St.Helens-Warrington
Sat 12th Mar
SL RND: 5 Huddersfield-Castleford
Thu 17th Mar
SL RND: 6 Wigan-Castleford
Fri 18th Mar
SL RND: 6 Salford-Leeds
Sat 19th Mar
SL RND: 6 Warrington-Wakefield
Sun 16th Jan
CC2022
LIVE
Bentley16-22Stanningley
Sat 15th Jan
CC2022 RND: 1 Orrell10-18British Army
CC2022 RND: 1 Rochdale M36-22Wigan St Pats
This is an inplay table and positions can change as matches are in play.
Betfred Championship 2022 ROUND : 1
 PLDFADIFFPTS
Sheffield 0 0 0 0 0
Halifax 0 0 0 0 0
Batley 0 0 0 0 0
Featherstone 0 0 0 0 -2
Dewsbury 0 0 0 0 0
LondonB 0 0 0 0 -2
 
Barrow 0 0 0 0 0
Bradford 0 0 0 0 0
Workington 0 0 0 0 0
Whitehaven 0 0 0 0 0
York 0 0 0 0 0
Leigh 0 0 0 0 0
Newcastle 0 0 0 0 0
Widnes 0 0 0 0 0
This is an inplay table and positions can change as matches are in play.
Betfred League One 2022 ROUND : 1
 PLDFADIFFPTS
Midlands 0 0 0 0 0
Rochdale 0 0 0 0 0
Crusaders 0 0 0 0 0
Hunslet 0 0 0 0 0
Keighley 0 0 0 0 0
Cornwall 0 0 0 0 0
 
Doncaster 0 0 0 0 0
West Wales 0 0 0 0 0
LondonS 0 0 0 0 0
Swinton 0 0 0 0 0
Oldham 0 0 0 0 0
This is an inplay table and positions can change as matches are in play.
Betfred Super League XXVII ROUND : 1
 PLDFADIFFPTS
Hull KR 0 0 0 0 0
Wakefield 0 0 0 0 0
Castleford 0 0 0 0 0
Leeds 0 0 0 0 0
Warrington 0 0 0 0 0
Catalans 0 0 0 0 0
 
Wigan 0 0 0 0 0
Salford 0 0 0 0 0
Hull FC 0 0 0 0 0
Huddersfield 0 0 0 0 0
Toulouse 0 0 0 0 0
St.Helens 0 0 0 0 0
This is an inplay table and positions can change as matches are in play.
National Rugby League 2022 ROUND : 1
 PLDFADIFFPTS
NQL Cowboys 0 0 0 0 0
Brisbane 0 0 0 0 0
Newcastle 0 0 0 0 0
Sydney 0 0 0 0 0
Manly 0 0 0 0 0
Souths 0 0 0 0 0
 
Cronulla 0 0 0 0 0
Parramatta 0 0 0 0 0
Canberra 0 0 0 0 0
NZ Warriors 0 0 0 0 0
Wests 0 0 0 0 0
Melbourne 0 0 0 0 0
St.George 0 0 0 0 0
Gold Coast 0 0 0 0 0
Penrith 0 0 0 0 0
Canterbury 0 0 0 0 0
RLFANS Recent Posts


Visit the RLFANS.COM SHOP
for more merchandise!











X
::::::::