RLFANS.COM
Celebrating
22 years service to
the Rugby League
Community!
WWW.RLFANS.COM • View topic - New Hull KR book - 'The Robin Sings Again'
New Hull KR book - 'The Robin Sings Again' Mon Nov 08, 2021 5:31 pm  

UpTheRobins wrote:
UpTheRobins Stevo's Armpit

Joined: Sat Nov 06, 2021 1:46 am
Posts: 1
Member for L 0 years
Hello fellow Robins,

I have aimed to fill the huge void that is Rovers literacy. Since mid-2020 I have been working on this volume, which chronicles last season in it's entirety. From analysis, news, matches and everything else - this is 'The Robin Sings Again: The Story of Hull Kingston Rovers' 2021 Season'

Description:
Throughout their existence, Hull Kingston Rovers have endured many battles to stay alive: administration, debt, stadium upheaval and even a prospective merger with their bitter rivals. However, nothing quite threatened them as much as the Coronavirus - one of the deadliest pandemics in the history of the world. Yet for Hull KR, that was just the start of the major issues that they had to battle against in 2021.

The rugby league authorities, the RFL, endured a stigma from the Robins' supporters as an entity that didn't want them to be apart of the top level of the sport, and those feelings were only exacerbated when the club was stripped of their elite academy status - a move which could have sent the club spiralling into oblivion.

The final potential enemy that Rovers were facing heading into 2021 was themselves. The club had finished bottom of the Super League in their previous season, and in the season before that, they had only avoided what would have been a disastrous relegation by the skin of their teeth. Even some of their fiercely loyal fans, who were always the lifeblood of the club, had begun to question the direction in which Rovers were moving in, due to their consistent underachievement. The all too familiar feeling of disappointment was chipping away, and at the height of such trying times, Hull KR needed their fans more than ever. In order to keep them on side and engaged, they needed to start to produce on the field - even if their hands were tied by budget constraints and a once in a generation global pandemic.

Indeed, times were tough. The potential messiah for Hull KR in their uncertain days, returning chief executive Paul Lakin, had described the times as 'choppy waters'. Join author Dan Crowther, as he surfs on those choppy waters by dissecting Hull KR's 2021 season in full detail. From first-team games, a controversial rebrand, other off-field incidents and news, general analysis, the feelings of the supporters that helped keep Hull KR alive, and much more - all in chronological order.

The Robin Sings Again is a compelling account of how one of British rugby league's most legendary clubs lived to fight another day and came just 80 minutes shy of a monumental Grand Final appearance.


LINK: https://www.amazon.co.uk/Robin-Sings-Again-Kingston-Rovers/dp/B09KNCX5TT

Available as a paperback for £6.99 and as a Kindle e-book for £3.99

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 84 guests

Quick Reply



Subject:
Message:

   
Please note using apple style emoji's can result in posting failures.

Return to Hull KR


POSTSONLINEMEMBERSRECORD
19.25Million 1,505 ↓-2878,8289,567
LOGIN HERE
or REGISTER for more features!.

When you register you get access to the live match scores, live match chat and you can post in the discussions on the forums.
YOU HAVE RL CHAT OFF
RLFANS Match Centre

TABLES:
Fri 11th Feb 20:00
SL
Hull KR
v
Wigan
Sat 19th Feb 15:00
SL
Huddersfield
v
Hull KR
Fri 25th Feb 20:00
SL
Hull KR
v
Salford
Sun 6th Mar 15:00
SL
Hull KR
v
St.Helens
Fri 11th Mar 19:45
SL
Salford
v
Hull KR
Fri 18th Mar 19:30
SL
Catalans
v
Hull KR
Fri 1st Apr 19:45
SL
Hull KR
v
Warrington
Fri 15th Apr 12:30
SL
Hull KR
v
Hull FC
Mon 18th Apr 15:00
SL
Toulouse
v
Hull KR
Sat 23rd Apr 15:00
SL
Hull KR
v
Wakefield
Fri 29th Apr 20:00
SL
Leeds
v
Hull KR
Sun 15th May 15:30
SL
Castleford
v
Hull KR
Sun 22nd May 15:00
SL
Hull KR
v
Catalans
Sun 5th Jun 15:00
SL
Hull KR
v
Salford
Sun 12th Jun 15:00
SL
St.Helens
v
Hull KR
There are currently no matches to display.
Matches on TV
Mon 31st Jan
CH RND: 1 York-Featherstone
Mon 7th Feb
CH RND: 2 Featherstone-Leigh
Thu 10th Feb
SL RND: 1 St.Helens-Catalans
Fri 11th Feb
SL RND: 1 Hull KR-Wigan
Sat 12th Feb
SL RND: 1 Leeds-Warrington
SL RND: 1 Toulouse-Huddersfield
Thu 17th Feb
SL RND: 2 Warrington-Castleford
Fri 18th Feb
SL RND: 2 Wigan-Leeds
Sat 19th Feb
SL RND: 2 Hull FC-St.Helens
Thu 24th Feb
SL RND: 3 Leeds-Catalans
Fri 25th Feb
SL RND: 3 Hull KR-Salford
Thu 3rd Mar
SL RND: 4 Wakefield-Leeds
Fri 4th Mar
SL RND: 4 Warrington-Catalans
Thu 10th Mar
SL RND: 5 Leeds-Hull FC
Fri 11th Mar
SL RND: 5 St.Helens-Warrington
Sat 12th Mar
SL RND: 5 Huddersfield-Castleford
Thu 17th Mar
SL RND: 6 Wigan-Castleford
Fri 18th Mar
SL RND: 6 Salford-Leeds
Sat 19th Mar
SL RND: 6 Warrington-Wakefield
Thu 31st Mar
SL RND: 7 Wigan-Hull FC
Betfred Championship 2022 ROUND : 1
 PLDFADIFFPTSDIFFWP%
Betfred League One 2022 ROUND : 1
 PLDFADIFFPTSDIFFWP%
Betfred Super League XXVII ROUND : 1
 PLDFADIFFPTSDIFFWP%
RLFANS Recent Posts


Visit the RLFANS.COM SHOP
for more merchandise!









X
::::::::